The Crystal Angel is the Madonna Foundation’s highest honor. It is presented to individuals who have provided outstanding service or contributions to the field of medical rehabilitation, or Madonna, in particular. Past recipients include:

2018    Tom and Lisa Smith

2015   Marsha A. Lommel

2014   Glenn Korff (posthumously)

2010   Dan & Cara Whitney

2008   Angie Muhleisen

2007   Margaret Lincoln Donlan

2003   Dr. Donald O. Clifton

2002   Richard and Eloise Agee

2001   James Stuart, Sr. and Helen Catherine (H.K.) Stuart   

2000   Dr. Tom and Nancy Heiser

1998   Sister Phyllis Hunhoff, OSB

1996   The Most Reverend Bishop Fabian W. Bruskewitz

1996   Robert E. Campbell, II

1995   Mary D. Hillegass

1993    James E. Ryan

1992   Joe R. Seacrest

1991    Dr. Howard Dinsdale

1989   Dr. Tom Osborne

1988   Jacqueline Meyer Townsend

1986   Governor Bob Kerrey

1985   Gordon MacRae

1983    Helen Hayes




The Vision Award is presented to individuals who challenge, lead and elevate Madonna to greater heights to assure a brighter future for children and adults with disabilities.


2018   William M. Kubly

2017    Anthony B. Acone

2015   Robert J. Buchman

2014    David Sundberg

2005  U.S. Senator Ben Nelson

2004   James P. Abel

2003   Anne Kinder Porter

2002  Brad Korell

2001   Dan Hergert, Jr.

2000  Dan & Judi Scully



The Madonna Innovation Award is presented to an individual or organization that merges knowledge with imagination to improve the quality of life for children and adults with disabilities. Past recipients include:


2018   Ronald L. Harris

2017    Goldwin Foundation

2015   Richard W. Chapin

2014    Dr. Judith M. Burnfield